Family Adventures With Me in Mind

To my surprise Meghan has tried more outdoor activities than I ever imagined.  For example, camping in the Southern Kettle Moraine Forest and taking mountain bike rides (on paved trails for now, but we’ll get there).  Since I don’t have friends in this area into biking, hiking, or camping, Meghan has really helped me enjoy what Wisconsin and the UP of Michigan has to offer.

At the end of last winter we scored a pair of snowshoes for Meghan.  Something I don’t think Meghan had ever tried.  Or ever imagined she would try.  But she took to it like a fish to water.  Last weekend we ventured out on a family snowshoe stroll at Minooka Park (Waukesha, WI).  Fresh snow and few skiers allowed us to take our time and let Steve roam the park.  Acting as our professional photographer, Meghan had Steve and I stop and pose for a few pictures.  Unfortunately I cannot produce pictures of Meghan bundled up with her snowshoes tied tight.

Steve led us through the snow while I trampled a path for Meghan to navigate.  The fresh snow sparkled in the sunlight as we continued our hike through the long grass popping up from under the snow.  Even with the sun shining, nothing was going to keep us warm on this winter morning.   The wind picked up and gave us a chill.  It was time to get back to the car and warm up.  The perfect end to this perfect day was a hot cup of coffee from the Steaming Cup.

AP

4 responses to “Family Adventures With Me in Mind

  1. I can showshoe with the best of them!

  2. I tried snowshoeing once. I wasn’t very good at it. I think I fell a lot.

  3. That sounds fun – I’ve never done it. Actually I don’t think I’ve ever seen anyone else do it either. Hmm.

  4. I snowshoed once in West Virginia. I was ok except when it came time to cross a river (ok… a stream). That’s when the primal fear kicked in.

Leave a Reply

