DIY magnetic photo frames

Here’s a cute idea that is a change from your typical picture frame.  This was one of those ideas inspired from a cute little boutique with overpriced gifts.  I saw it and loved it.  Then I thought, I could totally make that.  

Here’s how to make your own for under $5 each (a lot less than what the boutique charges):

1. Find an ordinary piece of magnetic metal from a hardware store.  I chose this piece for reasons that will become obvious later.

2. Cover the piece of metal in attractive paper then poke holes an equal distance apart through the paper.  Tip: don’t use thick paper (i.e. card stock). 

3. Put eyelets through the holes and secure.

4. Thread ribbon through the holes and tie in a bow.  Or don’t.

5. Visit Not Martha for instructions on how to make cute marble magnets that complement your frame.  Tip: look for strong magnets. You will have the most luck at a hardware store.

6. Secure your favorite photo to the frame with the magnets and hang.

 

Admire your work.

MP

7 responses to “DIY magnetic photo frames

  1. Awesome idea! I can’t wait to try it!

  2. You make it all look easy! And who’s that hot chick in the red?

  3. Project Openletter

    You are my crafting goddess. For real.

  4. I went to the store looking for that metal and was unable to find it. Could you tell me what they were calling it at the hardware store and if you found it at a Lowe’s or Home depot or just a small store?

    Thanks so much!

    Ruth

  5. Pingback: Magnetic picture frames, part deux « The tall and short of it.

  6. I LOVED this idea. I have also seen these in stores and thought I bet I could do this. I have so many questions. Do you cover the whole piece of metal and how do you adhere the paper. Did you use a roll paper or just single sheets of scrapbook paper? I can’t wait to see the ones you made that you don’t hang. I read that you can cut galvanized pieces of metal into U shaped and adhere to the back but I haven’t tried this. It is in a photo magazine but doesn’t go into detail. Thanks for the GREAT gift ideas. I hope mine turn out as cute as yours!

  7. Pingback: My latest obsession: Etsy.com « The tall and short of it.

Leave a Reply

